On 17th June, the UW Electoral College elected Prof. Alojzy Z. Nowak who will become the University of Warsaw rector in 2020-2024. He received 208 votes. There were three candidates: Prof. Alojzy Z. Nowak, Prof. Paweł Strzelecki, and Prof. Andrzej Tarlecki.

The role of the rector is to manage the university’s activity, represent UW externally and to be the superior of employees, students and doctoral candidates.


Prof. Alojzy Z. Nowak is the 45th rector of the University of Warsaw

Prof. Alojzy Nowak is affiliated to UW as of 1984. He has held a variety of leadership roles including head of the Academic Subunit for International Economics and the Academic Unit for Economics at the Faculty of Management, director of European Center. In years 1999-2006, Prof. Nowak was vice-dean of the Faculty of Management, and in 2006-2012 dean of this unit. Next four years, he spent at UW working as vice-rector in charge of research and cooperation. In 2016, he was elected as dean of the Faculty of Management. During his academic career, he was delivering lectures at universities in France, UK, USA, Russia, China and Korea.



Electoral procedure

Rector is elected by the Electoral College. According to UKW, the University Electoral Committee, resolution, the Electoral College comprises 389 members. The body that consists of representatives of the University community groups, academic teachers and non-academic employees (311), doctoral candidates (5), students (73) elected at faculties and in constituencies. The Electoral College of the University elects both the UW rector and members of the Senate.


Candidates for the position of a rector are indicated by the University Council and electors in a secret ballot. The Electoral College indicated three professors: Prof. Alojzy Z. Nowak, Prof. Paweł Strzelecki, and Prof. Andrzej Tarlecki. The University Council recommended Prof. Andrzej Strzelecki and Prof. Filip Żarnecki.


Prof. Alojzy Z. Nowak, Prof. Paweł Strzelecki and Prof. Andrzej Tarlecki expressed their consent. The University of Warsaw Senate gave its opinions on them. 


The election was held on 17th June.