University of Warsaw Facts and figures


The University of Warsaw was founded in 1816 >>



University graduates have won 6 Nobel Prize awards:

  • Henryk Sienkiewicz, writer, winner of the 1905 Nobel Prize in Literature, awarded “because of his outstanding merits as an epic writer”,
  • Czesław Miłosz, poet, prose writer, winner of the 1980 Nobel Prize in Literature,
  • Menachem Begin, prime minister of Israel from 1977 to 1983, received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1978,
  • Joseph Rotblat, physicist and radiobiologist, was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1995,
  • Leonid Hurwicz, economist,  winner of the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences in 2007, awarded “for having laid the foundations of mechanism design theory”,
  • Olga Tokarczuk, prose writer, poet and psychologist, winner of the 2018 Nobel Prize in Literature.


  • The University community consists of:
  • 7,500 employees,
  • 40,500 students,
  • 2,500 doctoral students,
  • 4,800 international students and doctoral students.


The UW encompasses 24 faculties and over 30 research units.




The scholars participate in 1400 projects financed by national or international research programmes, such as EU framework programmes, European Science Foundation, European Cooperation in the Field of Scientific and Technical Research, European Economic Area and Norway Grants, European Molecular Biology Organization.


1000 & 100

The UW cooperates with over 1000 foreign entities. It is a member of approximately 100 international associations and networks.



The UW offers 27 English-language programmes >>

Additional information

UW Annual Reports

Executive Summary
Annual Report Annexes
Executive Summary
Annual Report Annexes