Starting 1st August, the 4EU+ Alliance will be joined by the University of Geneva (UNIGE). The integration has been duly approved by the Governing Board of the European University Alliance.

The University of Geneva, Switzerland, becomes a new partner in the alliance to build up its research and education, as well as technology transfer and cooperation with European stakeholders.


“With the University of Geneva we are gaining a comprehensive research university from the heart of Europe as a valuable strategic partner. Both in Switzerland and internationally, the University of Geneva enjoys an excellent reputation as an outward-looking, research-intensive university with outstanding connections in the non-university research landscape,” Prof. Bernhard Eitel, Rector of Heidelberg University and current Chair of the 4EU+ Alliance, declared. “Building on existing cooperation, we intend, in the coming years, to advance common strategic projects in the areas of education, mobility and research and to establish 4EU+ as an innovation driver on the European and international educational scene,” he added.


A new partner university from Switzerland

The University of Geneva (UNIGE) was founded in 1559 and holds the top position among the Swiss comprehensive research universities and among the best 100 universities in the world with research strengths in life sciences, elementary particle physics, quantum physics and astrophysics. It cooperates with international organisations such as the World Health Organisation or the European Organisation for Nuclear Research. UNIGE is a member of various European research networks, including the League of European Research Universities  and the Coimbra Group.

“This alliance brings together some of the most widely recognised universities – all are members of the LERU or LERU/CE7– with which we already work closely both in teaching and research. We will now be able to take our projects one step further and strengthen academic mobility for our students and researchers,” Prof. Yves Flückiger, Rector of the University of Geneva, said. “Europe is facing complex challenges, like the digital transformation of society or the sustainable development goals set forth by the United Nations. They can only be met by a multidisciplinary approach, allowing researchers to work within comprehensive networks such as the one we are delighted to join today.”


One Comprehensive Research European University

The 4EU+ Alliance is focused on creating a new quality and barrier-free cooperation in didactics, research, and outreach. The alliance is based on a common understanding of the idea of the European university that builds on academic freedom and autonomy, as well as ensures fair access and participation in education.


The vision of the 4EU+ Alliance is to create One Comprehensive Research European University to strengthen the European Education and Research Areas by 2025 and beyond.


More information about the 4EU+ transformation can be found on the Alliance website >>

The 4EU+ European University Alliance, originally 4EU, was founded in March 2018 by the University of Warsaw, Charles University, Heidelberg University, and Sorbonne University. In October 2018, it became the 4EU+  when joined by the University of Copenhagen and the University of Milan.


The 4EU+ Alliance is one of the university alliances that have been funded since June 2019 under the Erasmus+ pilot call “European Universities”. It also received funding for the SwafS project TRAIN4EU+ within the framework of the Horizon 2020.