Prof. Alojzy Z. Nowak was re-elected by the Electoral College of the University of Warsaw for a second term as the Rector of the University of Warsaw on 18th April, having received 281 electoral votes.

There were three official candidates running in the election, where 435 votes were cast in total, with 432 being declared valid. Prof. Alojzy Z. Nowak received 281 votes, Prof. Łukasz Niesiołowski-Spanò received 143, and Prof. Maciej Górecki received 8.


Prof. Alojzy Z. Nowak has been affiliated to the University of Warsaw since 1984. He has held a number of leadership roles including as head of the Academic Subunit for International Economics and the Academic Unit for Economics at the Faculty of Management. He also served as Director of the European Centre. Between 1999 and 2006, Prof. Nowak was Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Management, and was the Dean of the Faculty for the 2006-2012 term. During the subsequent four-year period, he held the position of Vice-Rector responsible for research and cooperation. In 2016, he was re-elected as Dean of the Faculty of Management. During his academic career, he has delivered lectures at universities in France, the UK, the USA, Russia, China and Korea. His first term as Rector of the University of Warsaw started in 2020.


Election procedures

The rector of the University is elected by the Electoral College. Members of the College represent each group of the University community, which includes academics, administration staff, doctoral candidates and students. Independently, the electors are chosen from individual groups of the academic community in elections at every faculty or constituency.


Candidates for the position of rector are nominated by the University Council and the electors in a secret ballot. On 6th March, the Electoral College indicated four candidates: Prof. Maciej Górecki, Prof. Łukasz Niesiołowski-Spanò, Prof. Alojzy Z. Nowak, and Prof. Sławomir Żółtek. The University Council nominated Prof. Alojzy Z. Nowak.


The final three candidates, Prof. Maciej Górecki, Prof. Łukasz Niesiołowski-Spanò, and Prof. Alojzy Z. Nowak agreed to stand in the elections. Subsequently, the UW Senate assessed their candidatures. Prof. Alojzy Z. Nowak was the only candidate to receive a positive opinion from the Senate.


The election was held on 18th April in the Auditorium Maximum, at the UW campus on Krakowskie Przedmieście. On the same day, the electors also elected members of the UW Senate for the 2024–2028 term.